Official launch of the 2020 SADC Media Awards

16th September 2019- Gaborone, Botswana: The Secretariat of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) is pleased to announce the launch of the 2020 SADC Media Awards competition in the four categories namely; Photo, Print, Television and Radio Journalism.

The SADC Media Awards are open to journalists from the SADC Member States. The first prize winners will receive their prizes and certificates signed by the SADC Chairperson during the opening ceremony of the 40th SADC Summit of Heads of State and Government to be held in the Republic of Mozambique. The SADC Media Awards were established in 1996 to recognise best media work in disseminating information on SADC to support the process of regional co-operation and integration in the Region.

The following are the first prize winners of the 2019 SADC Media Awards; Ms. Doreen Nawa from the Republic of Zambia- Print Journalism category; Mr Royd Sibajene also from the Republic of Zambia -Photo Journalism category; Ms. Maria de Fatima Cossa from the Republic of Mozambique - Radio Journalism category and Mr Mallick Mnela from the Republic of Malawi - Television Journalism category

The runners-up were; Print- Mr Pako Tswelelo Lebanna from the Republic of Botswana; Radio- Mr Butler Mhepure from the Republic of Zimbabwe; Television-Ms. Sasha Maria Schwendenwein from the Republic of South Africa and Photo-Mr JoAPound o Gomes from the Republic of Angola.

The Secretariat is further advising interested journalists to obtain more information and entry forms from the SADC National Media Coordinators (SNMCs) in their Member States or SADC Website on this link ( . The list of SNMCs can be found on Completed forms, with all required information typed-in must be submitted to the SNMCs within Member States by 28th February 2020.

Source: Southern African Development Community (SADC)